22 of the 23 Butter version tracks are streaming now on the Lex Soundcloud including new tracks Beck’s remix of ‘Banished’, ‘Bookhead’, ‘Pause Tape’, ‘Signs’ and ‘Viberian Son’. Check back for updates about streams for the Beck and BBNG collabs.

Pre-order digital and vinyl

Key to the Kuffs (Butter Edition) - JJ DOOM

Pre-order the full 23 track from iTunes US now. The US version is available for a limited time at the special low price of $7.99 and you also get an instant download of the DOOM / Clams Casino collab ‘Bookfiend’.

Pre-order the limited edition 12″ picturedisc in the Lex store now. Orders include digital downloads.

T-shirt and CD coming soon. If you already have the original Key To The Kuffs you will be able to upgrade. See below for format info.

Key To The Kuffs Butter Version

The Butter version is an expanded version of last years Key To The Kuffs – a collaborative album from (MF) DOOM and Jneiro Jarel. The album is DOOM’s third consecutive studio album for Lex and follows on from his previous work with JJ on tracks in 2007 and 2010. The Sunday Times called the album “brilliant”, Thom Yorke said ‘Guv’nor’ was his favourite track of 2012, Spin touted ‘Banished’ as one of the years lyrical highlights, and Nate Patrin at Pitchfork wrote that DOOM was “No less quotable than he was in ’99… heavy on the diabolical brainiac grifter guise that’s fueled his post-KMD creativity for some 15 years, balancing knowledge and absurdity like a master.” 

In 2012 after DOOM turned in the masters for Key To The Kuffs, he carried on working on the project. Rather than put the breaks on and start saving up new material for a new album that might never come out we decided to keep it coming. The first new track was a long overdue collab with Del. Then he ripped heavy new JJ beats ‘Bookhead’ and ‘Pause Tape’. Then he totally reworked ‘Guv’nor’ over a BBNG megabanger, dropping science about the very real threat of reptilian devourment. And we all know about the alternative version of the Bookhead with Clams Casino that was snuck out in May.

Lyrically all the new collabs are tied in to the JJ DOOM album, so it made sense to put them together with the alt versions of (the Cockney rhyming-slang free) ‘Rhymin Slang’ and the reflective diss track ‘Retarded Fren’. The collection of tracks on the Butter version includes 4 brand new JJ DOOM tracks plus 4 alternative versions by collaborators Clams CasinoThom Yorke & Jonny GreenwoodBADBADNOTGOOD and Dave Sitek and a nasty remix by Beck. The art has been reworked by Steve Powers (aka ESPO) and includes his new Bookhead icon created for the ‘Bookhead’ video he directed earlier this year.


A digital download all 23 tracks and digital booklet with redux artwork is available on pre-order now at iTunes. The album will be available in all other digital stores from 19 August at full price. For people who already have the album, the 9  track download will be available from Lex online store at the same time.

A limited edition 12″ picturedisc of the 9 additional tracks from the Butter version  is available on pre-order from the Lex online store now. The a-side compiles the new JJ DOOM tracks and the DOOM collaborations with Beck, Thom, Clams, BBNG and Sitek are on the filp. Vinyl will be dispatched in October and will be available from shops worldwide at the same time.

The new t-shirt featuring Butter version artwork and the new Bookhead logo will be available in the Lex online store from 19 August. Every shirt comes with a digital download of all 23 tracks.

Compact Discs of  the Butter version will be available in all good record stores from 19 August. The two disc package includes the deluxe softpack original CD album, folded into a new outer package plus a bonus disc with all 9 new Butter tracks. For people who already bought the CD, you will be able to build your own Butter version – the outer and bonus disc will be available as a separate package from the Lex store from the week of release.


  • Follow Lex Online

  • News Feed

  • Archive

  • Categories