I Speak Machine – The Silence


I Speak Machine are vocalist and synth-nerd Tara Busch and filmmaker Maf Lewis.  Together they make brooding soundtracks and horror/sci-fi films, creating audio and visual in unison and giving both elements equal prominence.  Their approach is inspired by Spaghetti Western cinema duo Ennio Morricone and Sergio Leone, who used to play with score ideas for scenes while scripts were being written.

I Speak Machine’s debut offering is score and short film, The Silence.  The duo’s first London show is a live performance of The Silence at the Purcell Room, London on 21st September with Tara on vocals and an array of vintage analogue synths, playing against a screening of the film.  Tickets and info here.  The Silence album will be released on 24th November via Lex Records – watch the video for lead track, Crawl Home below.

Early supporters of I Speak Machine include new wave pioneer John Foxx (Ultravox) and soundtrack composer Clint Mansell (Requiem For A Dream, The Wrestler, Black Swan).  I Speak Machine, Lex Records and illustrator Tommy Lee Edwards are currently working together on further developments to The Silence project.

I Speak Machine The Silence tracklist:

01. Run

02. The Silence

03. Hell Is Other People

04. Heart Is Not Home

05. Insomniac

06. Experiment 2

07. Just One Day

08. Arrogance

09. Hunted

10. Dead Man, Come Home

11. Be Careful What You Wish For

12. Crawl Home